Getting Started

It’s hard to know just where to get started.  Entering the blogger-sphere at a new site is confusing enough.  Add to that trying to figure out what this blog will be about and how I want to promote it and the task becomes overwhelming.

I am hoping that eventually I will be moving this to its own site, which I have purchased the domain name for.  I have spent time trying to get a Facebook page setup and a Twitter account with the name as well.  This has taken up a lot of my time and has kept me from actually coming here and writing.

It’s funny – I felt pretty hyped up and excited about doing this.  I’ve spent time laying awake thinking about it instead of getting the much needed sleep my old and broken body needs these days.  I was really looking forward to the day that I finally got the name and the related accounts all up and working and could actually start writing.  It’s the setup that has killed the buzz.

What I have found Really UNREAL about this whole process is how much I don’t know about the internet.

I live on my computers and have for over 30 years now.  I work from home so the internet is my work place, my lifeline, my co-worker, my confidant, my buddy and my biggest competitor.  I started out in the early 1980’s with a CPM computer and over the years have moved and upgraded as technology advanced and my finances permitted.  I thought I was pretty savvy at this stuff.   Not any more.

I’ve forgotten everything I knew about HTML.  Setting up a web page is not easy even with the instant site builder that came with my domain name.  I’m not sure how to set up a Widget, why I need a Widget, and really would like to know who came up with the stupid name of Widget to begin with.  I don’t know what hash tags on Twitter are for.  Hell, I’m not even sure why people bother with Twitter in the first place.  Since when are we too lazy to make a phone call and tell someone person to person what’s on our mind.  The only reason I set up an account on Twitter was the author of the article on blogging suggested doing so right off the bat to lock in the name for later promotion.  Like I don’t have enough stuff to learn right here on WordPress as it is.

Maybe I’m just making this a lot harder than it has to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

